The MET Gala 2017

For the uninformed, the MET Gala is officially called the Metropolitan Museum of Art Costume Institute benefit,  a black tie extravaganza that raises money for the fashion department of the Met. Essentially the ultimate celebrity / power mixer, making it THE party to be at. Over the years, it has become one of the most anticipated events of the year in celebverse and normal-people-who-love-fashion-verse (aka people like me). This year’s theme was “Rei Kawakubo/Comme des Garçons: Art of the In-Between”, a celebration of the legendary designer’s outrageous, radical and often divisive designs.

If ever there was a night to play dress up, this was it. And so Monday evening (Tuesday morning for me) saw a bevy of beauties take to the steps of the Met in varied creations that  may or may not have interpreted the theme of the night. There were hits and there were misses; there were those that took the theme to heart, those that gave it the subtlest of nods, and those that didn’t want to play. In picking my favourites of the night, I added my little caveat – the looks had to be avant garde but also wearable.

First, the ladies who I thought were on-theme and nailed it

Met 1

  1. Rita Ora’s red and pink Marchesa was by far my favourite – the structure, the proportions, the OOTness and the hints of skin that added sexy to the mix.
  2. Zoe Kravitz was a caped queen in Oscar De La Renta. Side note, the roses on her bodice and cape, real roses dyed black.
  3. Tracee Ellis Ross wore a Comme de Garcons design – and looked quite regal despite the voluminous proportions. Also that colour and those killer heels!
  4. Ruth Nega wore a graceful Valentino gown that gave me priest-robe vibes. However, I love the subtle drama of its structure juxtaposed with the soft painterly design, and those fierce conrows.

Met 2

5. Dakota Johnson made a rather dramatic entrance in a black Gucci gown that
featured rosettes and ruffles aplenty, with a side of sexy courtesy that neckline.
6. I’ve always been a fan of Emmy Rossum’s style and here’s another example of why.
Extravagance met sharp tailoring in her stylish Carolina Herrera ensemble, which
was elevated by her styling.
7. Michelle Monaghan is another gorgeous lady who has been on my fashion radar
for a while. Here, she makes another fashionable entrance in a metal Paco
Rabonne gown that she complimented with chicly understated hair and make up.
8. Just because it’s a budget brand doesn’t mean its not fashionable, and Stella
Maxwell certainly had fun with her pretty flapperesque beaded gown from H&M.

There were a few ladies whose looks I wanted to love but just couldn’t – they were on theme and clearly having fun but there was something that didn’t quite click for me.

Met 3

  1. Rihanna has always been my queen of the Met – and clearly she takes the theme of the event quite seriously. This year was no exception and I have no doubt that she made the biggest impact of the night in her sculptural floral Comme de Garcons creation – a true masterpiece, but I didn’t love it.
  2. Cara Delevigne wore a Chanel Suit that made me wonder if a couple of disco balls were sacrificed for its creation. She took things even further by painting her bald head silver and embellishing it with crystals to match her suit. And while I applaud her fearlessness, I wasn’t a fan of the result.
  3. Celine Dion made her maiden appearance at the Met. And she did it in fine style wearing a fashion forward, slit -to-there Atelier Versace gown. But it didn’t quite work for me – maybe it was the shoes, maybe it was the styling. I can’t quite decide.
  4. And finally while I loved Lily Collin’s dual toned, structured Giambattisa Valli gown, I was not a fan of the hair and make up.

There were a few other ladies whose looks I loved although it was clear they had chosen to eschew the theme and do their own thing.

Met 4

  1. Naomi Watts was my favorite of these beauties in a sleek and sophisticated Stella McCartney  gown.
  2. Diane Kruger was a goddess in custom Prada – which featured lavish gold detailing and a draped back.
  3. Bee Schaffer stuck to her MO in Alexander McQueen gown – but I love the romance of its draping, the long train and her styling.
  4. Emily Ratajkowski gave me mermaidy vibes in her glitterly blue Marc Jacobs gown that showcased her sensational body (#goals).
  5. Elle Fanning was a fairytale princess in a baby blue Miu Miu, accessorized only with tiny earrings and a bejeweled headband.
  6. And Joan Smalls gave us all lessons in how to be sexy and elegant at the same time in a scarlet TopShop gown.

So how did our desi ladies do on Fashion’s biggest night?

Met 5

Both channelled sexy, but with radically different approaches.

Priyanka Chopra set the blue carpet abuzz in an OTT take of the classic trench coat from Ralph Lauren. Another fine example of supreme tailoring, she accessorised with platform booties and metallic make up, giving it a punkish edge.

Deepika brought sexy back (quite literally) in a boudoir inspired creation from Tommy Hilfigher. Dewy make-up, sparkling earrings and hair jewels and skyscraper heels completed her sexy look.

I think they both look beautiful, but PC’s confidence and attitude gives her the edge for this outing. That said, I’d have loved it if they had gotten creative with something intrinsically desi and given everyone something to talk about. Sonam Kapoor manages to do this very well, and I’m hoping both these ladies will take a few notes from her for Cannes.

So what do you think of my choices? Do you agree, disagree, agree to disagree?

P.S. I don’t own these pics.

Leave a Reply

