My Oscars Wishlist

So for days, my Facebook newsfeed has been bringing me updates from the fashion weeks – first Paris, then New York and now London! And we all know that the Oscars are just around the corner. They are only biggest annual celebration of cinema, and bring out the who’s who of Hollywood, in their fashionable best, of course! So naturally, I’ve been wondering who’s going to wear what and if they will live up to my lofty expectations. After all, those who can’t do live vicariously through someone else, even if only through a flat screen. All of that fantasising has resulted in this post – with my selections for the nominees and a few of my favourite celebs, straight from the runways!

Here we go!

Cate Blanchett is not one to shy away from a bold red carpet choice. What think you of this vibrant Bibu Mohapatra for queen Cate? I know it’s light on the bling, but I do love the colours and that big skirt!

Cate

I liked the Versace that Brie wore to the SAG awards, kinda; but wasn’t a fan of her Golden Globes Calvin Klien collection dress, despite her sculpted envy-inducing abs. That said, I do think something sleek for our first-time nominee, like this sexy and bedazzling Marchesa?

Brie

We all know J-Law will most definitely be wearing Dior for the big event, but I’m wishing she would pick something like this moody Oscar De La Renta with its quirky magenta oversized bow! Or perhaps this interesting Giambattista Valli!

JLaw

Saoirse Ronan is not new to the award scene for sure. But we haven’t seen nearly enough of her in recent years. Her first turn on the award circuit was back in 2007, when she was nominated for Best Supporting Actress in Atonement, at age 13. Saoirse is a graceful adult this time around, and so my pick for the young actress is Zac Posen.

Saoirse

Google tells me that Charlotte Rampling’s red carpet style tends to be no-nonsense – she does love a good suit and wears them well! But for Hollywood’s biggest night, I was thinking perhaps something a little more romantic, like this Valentino.

Charlotte

Up for Best Actress in a supporting role, Jennifer Jason Leigh has been nominated for practically every award that there is for her work in The Hateful Eight. My choice for her big night, this light, floral Alexander McQueen.

Jennifer J

Anyone who has seen Rooney Mara’s red carpet runs in the last few years knows that she has a formula – simple, and a colour palette of black, white or nude. I had trouble deciding, so I picked two looks for Rooney: a structured Zuhair Murad, and  a vibrant Christian Siriano, which is a complete departure from her usual fare!

Rooney

Rachel McAdams is one of my favourite actresses of all time, and one of my favourite people on the red carpet. She’s had some epic fashion moments in Elie Saab – case in point, the pic of her on the left, but I’d love to see her rock this sexy Atelier Versace!

Rachel

A relative newbie to the red carpet and awards circuit, Alicia has already earned her place on best dressed lists for practically every event that she has attended, often in Louis Vitton. I’d love to see her in this pleated goddess Valentino, with the some interesting jewellery. What say you?

Alicia

Kate Winslet is no stranger to the awards circuit, or winning, them – and her red carpet style is a true celebration of the feminine form. I’d like to see her take a tiny side step, however, with this form-fitting, yet fluid Bibu Mohaparta number.

kate

So those are our nominees this year, but I couldn’t resist dressing up some a few of my favourite stars, whom I’m hoping will make an appearance too.

Angelina Jolie’s recent choices have tended towards simple and black, but I’d really love to see her in this heavily embellished Chanel number.

Angie.png

If they haven’t invited Elizabeth Banks to the Oscar’s as yet, they should. And she should accept. And then grace the event and thrill us in this to-die-for Elie Saab. Agreed?

Elizabeth

Charlize Theron has been a long-time Dior devotee for her Oscar outings, and had a lot of success in their gorgeous creations for her. But given that the movie she could be supporting this year is Mad Max, perhaps she’ll shake her style up a bit with this edgy Julien Macdonald number.

Charlize

I love Sandra Bullock – really, how can you not! She’s not nominated this year, a huge oversight in my opinion – because she was brilliant (as per!) in Our Brand is Crisis. Still, I’m hoping she’ll walk the red carpet in this super sexy Tadashi Shoji gown.

Sandy

Julianne Moore’s go-to designer for major red carpet events is Tom Ford. She’s one of those women (along with Sandra Bullock) that you look at and think, ‘I want to be that awesome at 50!’. Anyway, my fangirling aside, I think she would rock this heavily embellished Jenny Packham.

Julianne

Julia Roberts rarely embraces colour, these days, or even public appearances if she’s not out promoting a movie. So I chose this Chanel number for her, which reminds me, just a smidge, of the gown she wore to the Oscars in 2001.

Julia

Anyway, that’s my Oscar red carpet wishlist for the stars! Tell me what you think of my wildly inaccurate (and rather limited) predictions!

 

Leave a Reply

